Nick Feamster

Faculty Director

Nick Feamster is Neubauer Professor in the Department of Computer Science and the College. He researches computer networking and networked systems, with a particular interest in Internet censorship, privacy, and the Internet of Things. His work on experimental networked systems and security aims to make networks easier to manage, more secure, and more available.

Julia Lane

Executive Director

Julia Lane is the Executive Director of the Center for Data and Computing, responsible for shaping and executing the strategic vision of CDAC, building new research partnerships and outreach strategies to foster interdisciplinary collaborations, and ensuring that the University continues to broaden applications of data science and computing approaches.

Rob Mitchum


Rob Mitchum is Associate Director of Communications for Data Science and Computing at the University of Chicago, covering research and faculty for the Department of Computer Science, the Center for Data and Computing, and other computational initiatives.

Katie Rosengarten

Administrative Specialist

Katie Rosengarten is the Administrative Specialist for the Center for Data and Computing, responsible for supporting the Center’s programming, logistical, and financial operations.

CDAC Steering Committee

The steering committee sets the strategic research direction of CDAC and reviews proposed seed projects. Members are faculty selected from among the University’s divisions and professional schools, who serve a two-year renewable term.

Luís M. A. Bettencourt, Professor of Ecology and Evolution, Pritzker Director, Mansueto Institute for Urban Innovation (BSD)

James Evans, Professor of Sociology; Director, Knowledge Lab; Faculty Director, Masters Program in Computational Social Sciences (SSD)

Andrew Ferguson, Associate Professor of Molecular Engineering (Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering)

Michael Franklin, Liew Family Chair of Computer Science, Senior Advisor to the Provost for Computation and Data Science, Chairman, Department of Computer Science (PSD)

Rayid Ghani, Director of the Center for Data Science & Public Policy, Research Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Harris School of Public Policy (PSD/Harris)

Chris Kennedy, William H. Colvin Professor and Chair, Department of Linguistics and Humanities Collegiate Division (Humanities)

Julia Lane, Executive Director, Center for Data and Computing

Karen Livescu, Associate Professor, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago (TTIC)

Sendhil Mullainathan, University Professor, Professor of Computation and Behavioral Science, and George C. Tiao Faculty Fellow (Booth)

Dan Nicolae, Chair, Department of Statistics, Professor, Departments of Statistics, Human Genetics, Medicine, Section of Genetic Medicine, and the College (BSD/PSD)

Samuel L. Volchenboum, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Associate Chief Research Informatics Officer, Director, Center for Research Informatics, Associate Director, Institute for Translational Medicine (BSD)

Rebecca Willett, Professor, Departments of Statistics, Computer Science, and the College (PSD)